logo-sm

Leadership

Dr. Joan Mele-McCarthy, CCC-SLP

Executive Director

Dr. Mele-McCarthy brings a wealth of knowledge and expertise to Summit. She earned her Bachelor of Arts, Master of Science and Doctor of Arts degrees in Speech-Language Pathology from Adelphi University in Garden City, New York. She has worked in a variety of settings throughout her many years of service to children and families and has accrued many areas of expertise and experience that serve our students, our families, and our school well.

Her clinical competency and supervision experience includes serving as a university professor and clinical supervisor at several universities. She understands the educational needs of children and supervises and teaches staff to ensure they provide for those needs. She has extensive knowledge of theoretical concepts based upon research and has developed course content at the university level based upon the research.

She has trained teachers across the country, has presented at numerous professional conferences at the national and local levels, has contributed to peer-reviewed publications and has developed national research agendas for English language learners and children with learning disabilities.

In addition, Dr. Mele-McCarthy has owned and directed a thriving private practice for 16 years – Communication & Learning Therapies, Inc. Having served children and families in the private sector, she notes, “I understand the child-family-school connection and the accountability Summit has to all of its families.”

Just prior to taking this position, Dr. Mele-McCarthy served as Special Assistant to the Assistant Secretary of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services in the U.S. Department of Education, Washington, D.C., an appointed position in the Bush administration. She has a national perspective on general education and special education as a result of her policy work on the No Child Left Behind Act (NCLB) and the Individuals with Disabilities Education Improvement Act (IDEA). And certainly, her philosophy of education holds as a priority, high expectations for all children.

Dr. Mele-McCarthy also serves as Vice President for Government Relations and Public Policy on the Board of Directors for the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) and is an ASHA Fellow. She is the 2012 recipient of the Washington Post Educational Leader in Private Schools Award, and is the 2006 recipient of the Rolland Van Hattum Award, an honor given yearly by the American Speech-Language-Hearing Foundation to a speech-language pathologist who has made significant contribution to schools.

Read more

Pamela Walker

Director of Education / Director Camp Summit

Pamela Walker, the Coordinator of Curriculum Studies and Director of Camp, has been an educator for 16 years and has served in various capacities. Mrs. Walker earned her undergraduate degree in Speech Language Pathology from the University of Maryland. She earned her Master of Art’s in Teaching from Towson University, plus an additional 30 Master credits from Johns’ Hopkins University in School Administration and Supervision. She is certified in both general education and special education, and holds Administrative I and II endorsements.

Pamela taught in both self-contained and inclusion settings in Charles County Public Schools, Maryland. Pamela also served as the county’s Special Education Resource Specialist. She consulted with teachers to support students with a wide variety of special needs. Her expertise in a variety of methodologies, including Orton-Gillingham, allows her the broad knowledge needed to work with a variety of populations.

She has also held positions as an Elementary School Vice Principal, and Nonpublic School Specialist. She was selected by Maryland State Department of Education as a future leader in Special Education and participated in the Special Education Leadership Academy in 2003.

Nicole Easton

Program Coordinator

Nicole Easton has recently joined The Summit School as Program Coordinator. Prior to The Summit School, Nicole served for 16 years as the Education Services Coordinator for an independent school with a belief in research based education pedagogy. Nicole provided leadership and partnership to teachers and students sharing professional expertise in all aspects of supporting academics. She developed and led programs that supported the school community, as well as, the larger local community. Her experiences in education have occurred in very diverse academic settings which encouraged the development and mastery of a variety of skills. In addition to developing and leading educational programs, she created and taught a practical math program designed to educate high school students using real-world life skills.

Nicole earned her Master’s in Special Education; Learning Disabilities from The American University and is trained and qualified to assess and implement a variety of education strategies and programs for students with a wide range of abilities.

"I enjoy working at Summit because I love being surrounded by the energy and creativity that the school embodies."

Staff Directory

Mary Kay Altmann
Bachelor of Arts, Bethany College
Instructor
marykay.altmann@thesummitschool.org

Randall Anderson
Master of Arts University of Phoenix
Instructor
randall.anderson@thesummitschool

Polly Aquilino
Bachelor of Arts, Salisbury University
School Secretary
polly.aquilino@thesummitschool.org

Tara Bisciotti
Master of Education, Vanderbilt University
Instructor
tara.bisciotti@thesummitschool.org

Debora Consugar
Master of Education, Loyola University
Instructor & Math Coordinator
deb.consugar@thesummitschool.org

Chris Davis
Bachelor of Fine Arts, Edinboro University
Art Instructor & Assistant Technology Coordinator
chris.davis@thesummitschool.org

Nicole Easton
Master’s in Special Education; Learning Disabilities, American University
Program Coordinator
nicole.easton@thesummitschool.org

Ryan Ferguson
Master of Music, Johns Hopkins University Peabody Institute
Performing Arts Instructor
ryan.ferguson@thesummitschool.org

Dorothy Flint, CCC-SLP
Speech/Language Pathologist
dorothy.flint@thesummitschool.org

Kim Fortini
Bachelor of Arts, Towson University
Marketing and Development Coordinator
kim.fortini@thesummitschool.org

Midge Goldberg
Business Manager
midge.goldberg@thesummitschool.org

Sarah Greenfield
Master of Science, Grand Canyon University
Instructor
sarah.greenfield@thesummitschool.org

Kathleen Heefner
Master of Education, George Washington University
Director of Admissions
kathy.heefner@thesummitschool.org

Helen Heller
Master of Education, Towson University
Instructor
helen.heller@thesummitschool.org

Diana Herr
Master of Arts, College of Notre Dame
Instructor
diane.herr@thesummitschool.org

Kaitlyn Hines
Bachelor of Arts, Loyola University
Instructor
kaitlyn.hines@thesummitschool.org

Lois Jenkins
Parent Volunteer Coordinator
lois.jenkins@thesummitschool.org

Clinton Kitrell
Bachelor of Arts, Bucknell University
Instructor
clinton.kitrell@thesummitschool.org

Lynn Lenox, RN
School Nurse
lynn.lenox@thesummitschool.org

Elaine Levit
Master of Arts, Speech-Language Pathology, University of Maryland
Speech/Language Pathologist
elaine.levit@thesummitschool.org

Siobhan Lydon
Master of Education, Loyola University
Instructor
siobhan.lydon@thesummitschool.org

Gretchen Mayer
Master of Arts, Loyola University
Instructor
gretchen.mayer@thesummitschool.org

Sean McDonald
Ph.D., Clinical Psychology, Nova Southeastern University
Instructor
sean.mcdonald@thesummitschool.org

Judith Medeiros
Bachelor of Arts, San Diego State University
Instructor
judy.medeiros@thesummitschool.org

Dr. Joan Mele-McCarthy, CCC-SLP
Doctorate of Arts, Adelphi University
Executive Director
joan.mele-mccarthy@thesummitschool.org

Kirstin Menzies
Master of Science, McDaniel College
Instructor
kirstin.menzies@thesummitschool.org

Erik Nyce
Bachelor of Arts, Whittier College
Instructor
erik.nyce@thesummitschool.org

Jessica Palmeri
Bachelor of Arts, University of Connecticut
Director of Marketing & Communications
jessica.palmeri@thesummitschool.org

Nancy Rhodes
Master of Science, Long Island University
Summit Resource Center, Coordinator
nancy.rhodes@thesummitschool.org

Shari Richey
Bachelor of Science, University of Maryland
Instructor & Athletic Director
shari.richey@thesummitschool.org

Nicole Ryan
Master of Education, University of Missouri
Instructor
nicole.ryan@thesummitschool.org

Andrea Rye
Master of Science, Radford University
Instructor
andrea.rye@thesummitschool.org

Christine Shea
Master of Science, Johns Hopkins University
Instructor & Reading Coordinator
christine.shea@thesummitschool.org

Benjamin Shiffman
Master of Arts, Towson University
Instructor
ben.shiffman@thesummitschool.org

Judy Tart, CAP
Bachelor of Arts, Trinity College
Director of Development
judy.tart@thesummitschool.org

Sandi Taylor
Office Manager
sandi.taylor@thesummitschool.org

Courtney Taylor
Bachelor of Arts, Towson University
Instructor
courtney.taylor@thesummitschool.org

Cathy Trevethan
Administrative Assistant
cathy.trevethan@thesummitschool.org

Caroline Vogan
Bachelor of Arts, Loyola University
Instructor
caroline.vogan@thesummitschool.org

Pamela Walker
Master of Arts, Towson University
Director of Education / Director Camp Summit
pamela.walker@thesummitschool.org

Eileen Wallace, CCC-SLP
Master of Science, Speech Language Pathology, Boston University
Speech/Language Pathologist
eileen.wallace@thesummitschool.org

Jonathan Wallace
Bachelor of Arts, Physical Education, Sports Administration, Morgan State University
Instructor
jonathan.wallace@thesummitschool.org

Ian Walsh
Bachelor of Science, University of Maryland
Technology Coordinator
ian.walsh@thesummitschool.org

Amy Webb
Bachelor of Science, University of Maryland
Instructor
amymorgan.webb@thesummitschool.org

Brian Weiland
Bachelor of Arts, Chestnut Hill College
Instructor
brian.weiland@thesummitschool.org

Emily Welsh
Master of Science, Library Information Services Simmons College
Librarian
emily.welsh@thesummitschool.org

Genevieve White, Ed.S.
Educational Specialist, James Madison University
School Psychologist & Camp Director
genevieve.white@thesummitschool.org

Darla Winstead
Bachelor of Education, Texas State University
Instructor
darla.winstead@thesummitschool.org

Meryl Wolf
Bachelor of Science, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Teaching Assistant
meryl.wolf@thesummitschool.org

Christine Zito
Master of Arts, Ithaca College
Instructor
christine.zito@thesummitschool.org

ONLINE RESOURCES

email access

(for faculty & staff use)

fa web login

(for faculty & staff use)